Broughton Castle and Compton Verney

Date(s) - 3rd Sep 2015

The Wilson


Friends have been granted a private visit to Broughton Castle, the family home of Lord and Lady Saye & Sele and described in 1898 by Sir Charles Oman as “about the most beautiful castle in all England….for sheer loveliness of the combination of water, woods and picturesque buildings”. The original Manor House, of which much remains today, was built in about 1300 by Sir John de Broughton and stands on an island site surrounded by a moat. The Castle was greatly enlarged between 1550 and 1600, at which time it was embellished with magnificent plaster ceilings, splendid panelling and fine fireplaces. Friends will also be able to visit the Gatehouse, beautiful gardens and park together with the nearby 14th century Church of St. Mary – time permitting. Coffee will be served on arrival and lunch will be taken at the Saye & Sele Arms.

In the afternoon we will visit COMPTON VERNEY to see the current exhibition, The Arts & Crafts House Then and Now, which traces the origins, legacy and enduring appeal as well as exploring how subsequent generations of designers created new ways of living and working. Friends can also see the exhibition The Hart Silversmiths, A Living Tradition and Dan Pearson’s William Morris Wild Flower Meadow.

COST PER PERSON: £45.00 p.p. to include coffee, entrances and lunch (‘The Best Ploughman’s and a Pudding’). Tea can be obtained at Compton Verney.

Coach leaves THE WILSON, Clarence Street, at 8.45 a.m. and will return by about 7.00 p.m. Booking forms were sent out by post or email at the beginning of August and should be returned with a cheque (payable to FCAGM) and SAE to Mrs. J. Ogle, 1 Wellington Square, Cheltenham GL50 4JU (01242 231011) as soon as possible. New Friends should be aware that outings book up very quickly so a prompt reply is advised.

Please note that this event is for Friends only.  To join us, click here for an application form.